Matthew Dear has announced Bunny, his first album in six year.

The LP will drop via Ghostly International on October 12, following recent outings under his Audion alias and a DJ-Kicks mix. The album announcement was preceded by two singles released in 2017, “Modafinil Blues” and “Bad Ones”, the latter of which features Tegan and Sara, who also join dear on another cut on the 14-track album. According to the press release, “Bunny is a dual vision of avant-pop; an artistic reckoning from a 21st-century polymath; persona splintered, paradox paraphrased, a riddle rendered.” 

On the album name, Dear states: “Why Bunny? Fundamentally, I love the way the word looks and sounds. I love the way it rolls off the mind and onto the tongue. It’s a funny thing too. Bunnies are cute. Bunnies are weird. They’re soft. They’re sexy. They’re lucky. They wildly procreate. They trick hunters, but get tricked by turtles. They lead you down holes. They adorn the headboards of children’s beds, lined up meticulously just as mom did when she was your age. Bunnies are seemingly with us from birth, and probably skitter past on our way out the big door. ‘Viste al conejito papá?’ ‘Sí, fue una buena sopa!’ Good one pops.”

You can find the latest two singles below, along with the tracklisting.


01. Bunny’s Dream
02. Calling
03. Can You Rush Them
04. Echo
05. Modafinil Blues
06. What You Don’t Know
07. Horses feat. Tegan And Sara
08. Moving Man
09. Bunny’s Interlude
10. Duke of Dens
11. Electricity
12. Kiss Me Forever
13. Bad Ones feat. Tegan And Sara
14. Before I Go