Photo: Shaun Bloodworth

UK artist and recent Essential Mix contributorMax Cooper (pictured above) has announced plans to issue his second EP with pianist/film composer Tom Hodge, who together released the Fragmented Self Pt. 1 EP in 2013. Titled Artefact, the new collaborative release is said to feature songs inspired by “the power of treasured objects and sounds to evoke involuntary emotional response,” as well as Cooper’s 2012 visit to the Teotihuacan pyramids in Mexico, and a piece called “Resonant Expanse” that showcases Hodge’s piano arrangements and Cooper’s intricate sound editing. Currently, the first part of the pair’s “Teotihuacan” composition (which will not appear on the upcoming EP) is available for free download via Cooper’s website. The pair’s Artefact EP will be released via the FIELDS label on April 20; in the meantime, the artwork and complete tracklist for the upcoming record can be found below.

1. Remnants
2. Teotihuacan Part 2
3. Resonant Expanse