An artist who impressed us at last year’s MUTEK.MX festival (where the locals often referred to him as the “Mexican Andy Stott”), Mexicali-based artist Schem has announced plans to release his debut long-player, Embrace, next month. Billed as a dense and dark LP, the record will feature eight new productions from the artist, whose cold electronic compositions surely owe some debt to Stott and the Modern Love tradition, but also come with their own unique production stamp.

Serving as our first taste of Embrace is “Hold Me,” a sludgy beat wrapped in pulsing sub-bass and a plethora of haunting tones. The track can be streamed in full below, where the complete tracklist for Schem’s forthcoming debut album (out on February 16 via the Static Discos label) can also be found.

1. Bloom
2. Health House
3. Dark Figure
4. Hold Me
5. Trust
6. Tension
7. Warm Physics
8. Bad Blood