Modeselektor will release their new Modeselektion Vol. 04 compilation on June 1 via Monkeytown Records x Ninja Tune. It features 17 exclusive tracks including the first new Modeselektor production since 2015—a wild acid techno track “Kalif Storch”—named after the nightclub of the same name in Erfurt, Germany. 

The compilation features cuts from the likes of Skee Mask, rRoxymore, Solid Blake, Sarah Farina, Peder Mannerfelt, Vatican Shadow, Actress, and more.  

Modeselektor is the Berlin-based production/DJ partnership of Gernot Bronsert and Sebastian Szary. The duo emerged from the cultural upheaval of post-wall Berlin with roots in wild underground acid house parties and a healthy disrespect for techno purism. They took their moniker from a function on the Roland RE-201 space echo analog delay effects unit. In 2001 they met Ellen Allien and signed to her label BPitch Control releasing a string of EPs and two albums, Hello Mom! (2005) and Happy Birthday! (2007), featuring collaborations with Thom Yorke, Maximo Park, TTC, Siriusmo, and Paul St. Hilaire. 2009 saw them establish their own imprint Monkeytown Records (plus sub-label 50 Weapons) and release their third album Monkeytown with Thom Yorke guesting once again. 

“The choice of tracks is influenced by our thirst for effective dance music. After almost four years of touring with Moderat, we really felt the urge to dedicate ourselves again to what made us.” — Modeselektor

Modeselektion Vol. 04 is released on June 1 as a two-disc CD, digital album and for vinyl fans, it will be available as four individual 12” EPs, or packaged together in a limited edition 4×12” slipcase exclusively available from Modeselektor’s Bandcamp, the Ninjashop, the Monkeytown store and Bleep. 

The artwork comes courtesy of long-term Modeselektor collaborators Pfadfinderei.


01. Brainwaltzera “Vodiga”

02. Actress “Watercolour Challenge”

03. Claude Speeed “A Different Point Of View”

04. Lone “Smoke Signals”

05. Kasper Marott “Metaxas Carnival” (Tandoori’s Voodoo Mixx)

06. rRoxymore “Cosmopolitanism”

07. Rødhåd “Blacksmith”

08. Peder Mannerfelt “Sectional Healing”

09. Radio Slave “Introduction”

10. Vatican Shadow “Desert Father” (Modeselektor Edit)

11. Modeselektor “Kalif Storch”

12. Lory D “ob.bx-n”

13. FJAAK “Matte”

14. Solid Blake “Masha”

15. Skee Mask “Lil DB Tool”

16. Sarah Farina & Yo van Lenz “Peace Dub’

17. Fadi Mohem “Endless”

Modeselektion Vol. 04 is released on June 1 with “Kalif Storch” streaming in full below.