Monokle will release a new album on Christian Löffler’s Ki Records, coming out on August 30.

Mindperfection is the result of a collaboration with AL-90, a musician hailing from the Russian port of Murmansk on the edge of the Arctic Circle. “A few years ago we were offered to make a joint track, it turned out to be very original and suited in spirit both me and AL-90. We also got a very big feedback after its release,” Monokle says. “After that, we talked to each other for a long time about working on another joint release.”

Despite the hundreds of kilometers of land separating the artists, creating the album was a smooth and speedy process, “We did it very quickly. I’ve never written so fast, literally five months. At the time of recording, everything was done just by sharing files, samples, and projects with each other,” Monokle explains.

Sonically, the album draws on Monokle’s earlier releases and unites fragments of IDM, glitch, ambient, and drone to create a “unique mosaic of sound,” the label explains. We’re told that there is a lot going on in some of the tracks—samples with varying moods, accelerated beats, and scraps of voice heard here and there—but the overall picture is harmonic. The tracks are made cohesive by an “inherent warmth.”

AL-90’s earlier releases have a lo-fi quality to them, a fuzziness that is reminiscent of the sound of a cassette. For Mindperfection, he employed several filters on Monokle’s otherwise crisp sound to soften its edges and create something more organic. “I’m not used to such a dirty sound, because AL-90 deliberately spoiled the original, pure sound. But it gave the album a certain soft, analog and cassette charm,” Monokle adds.

Monokle released solo album Rings on Ki 2015.


01. Freeze
02. Spectre
03. Dome
04. Black Marker
05. Grozdi
06. Lowland
07. Never
08. Rostki Utopii
09. Flywheel

Mindperfection lands on August 30, with “Lowland” streaming below.