Moodymann will release a new album, Taken Away, later this month.

Taken Away is the mysterious Kenny Dixon Jr.’s first outing since last year’s Sinner, a double-pack first sold at a barbecue he hosted in Detroit during the 2019 Movement weekend. His album before that never saw full release, but rare vinyl versions popped up on Discogs for over US$500.

“Do Wrong,” the album’s lead single, is available now.

Album artwork comes from Richard Wilson.


01. Do Wrong
02. Taken Away
03. Let Me In
04. Just Stay A While
05. Goodbye Everybody
06. Slow Down
07. I’m Already Hi
08. Taken Away (Moodymann Mix)

Taken Away LP is out on May 21 via KDJ. Meanwhile, you can pre-order here, where you can also stream and buy lead track “Do Wrong.”