Venerable trip-hop icon Tricky has prepped his ninth studio album, Mixed Race, to drop October 5 via Domino. On the album’s title and sounds, Tricky said, “You sat down at the table in my house and you saw every color. It’s made me much more open-minded than I could’ve been. I come from both worlds. I’ve been blessed because no one can put my music in a box—it’s not black, it’s not white, it’s not female, it’s not male. I’ve spent my life going between cultures; Mixed Race is about that, and in a very direct way.” Preceding his new record’s release, the prolific producer will share the first single from Race, “Murder Weapon,” which is a rework of the classic dancehall hit by Echo Minott, on August 30, but you can stream the forthcoming tune now. The player is embedded below, along with Mixed Race‘s tracklist.

XLR8R Couldn't find the embed function for type: "soundcloud" and source: "<embed allowscriptaccess="always" height="81" src="" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" width="100%">".

1. Every Day
2. Kingston Logic
3. Early Bird
4. Ghetto Stars
5. Hakim
6. Come To Me
7. Murder Weapon
8. Time To Dance
9. Really Real
10. Bristol To London