Norwegian multidisciplinary artist Jenny Hval is set to return with a new EP, The Long Sleep,” set for release May 25 via Sacred Bones. The EP’s first single, “Spells,” is streaming online now.

The Long Sleep EP is the first Jenny Hval release since 2016’s Blood Bitch and follows the Lost Girls collaborative EP, released this past February. It also and precedes Hval’s debut novel, Paradise Rot, published by Penguin Random House’s Verso, and out October 2.

We’re told that the EP sees Hval “embracing an instinctive, even subconscious, approach to creating meaning.” In contrast to her more explicitly conceptual work, The Long Sleep “foregrounds the act of composition itself, letting the melodies and structures reveal the other elements of the songs.” It was recorded with longtime collaborator Håvard Volden and producer Lasse Marhaug, along with a supporting cast of players from the jazz world—Kyrre Laastad on percussion, Anja Lauvdal on piano, Espen Reinertsen on saxophone, and Eivind Lønning on trumpet.


01. Spells
02. The Dreamer Is Everyone In Her Dream
03. The Long Sleep
04. I Want To Tell You Something

The Long Sleep is set for release May 25 via Sacred Bones, with “Spells” streaming in full above.