Jason Chung (a.k.a. Nosaj Thing) has been contributing to LA’s electronic landscape for more than six years now, largely being affiliated with the city’s longstanding beat scene centered around the Low End Theory club night. On his forthcoming third full-length record, Fated, Chung appears ready to branch out a bit beyond his beat scene roots; describing the production process behind his new record, Chung says “I just tried to escape really, and escape even what’s going on in the music world.” Featuring guest contributions from Chicago rap talent Chance the Rapper and Sacramento artist Whoarei, Fated is also said to focus on a stripped-down approach and “a perpetual feeling of déjà vu.”

Along with the announcement of Fated, Nosaj Thing has shared lead single “Cold Stares,” a minimal R&B cut that finds Chance the Rapper delivering a humble verse over forlorn, swelling pads. Until Innovative Leisure releases Fated on May 5, “Cold Stares” can be streamed in full below; the upcoming record’s artwork can also be seen above, and its complete tracklist can be found below.

1. Sci
2. Don’t Mind Me (feat. Whoarei)
3. Realize
4. Varius
5. Cold Stares (feat. Chance the Rapper)
6. Watch
7. UV3
8. Let You
9. Moon
10. Erase
11. Medic
12. A
13. Phase IV
14. Light #5
15. 2K