Photo: Dzhovani

Pan Daijing will release Jade, a new album on PAN.

Jade is Daijing’s first album since 2017’s Lack 惊蛰, also released through Bill Kouligas‘ label. Since then, the Berlin-based sound artist, born and raised in Guiyang, southwest China, has presented a series of exhibition performances at institutions including Tate Modern.

In contrast to these projects, Jade‘s nine tracks have been written “without the imperatives of direct address to performers or audience.” For this reason, the album “speaks inward,” inviting a kind of “rhetorical listening.”

While Daijing leans on materials that’ll familiar from her previous work, which is to say ascetic electronic textures and voice bent in irreverent directions, her arrangements here “linger in tension, extending curiosity towards the delicate void that nourishes extremes.”

The album is mixed and mastered by Rashad Becker.


01. Clean 一月
02. The Goat 二月
03. Dictee 三月
04. Tilt 四月
05. Dust 五月
06. Ran 乱
07. Let 七月
08. Metal 八月
09. Moema, Forever 九月

Jade LP is scheduled for June 4 release. Meanwhile, you can stream “Dust 五月” in full below and pre-order here.

Artwork by Pan Daijing