Peggy Gou has mixed the 69th edition of DJ-Kicks for !K7

The Berlin-based Korean artist started working on the mix last year, aiming to create a portrayal of her own musical journey—an “18-track listening session that takes you straight into Peggy Gou’s living room where she plays you the formative tunes from her collection,” the press release explains. We’re told that she moves across disco, house, techno, and electro, and that the mix ranges from 90 to 150 BPM. The earliest tunes are from 1983.

The cover references both Korean iconography and the endangered status of the the tiger, the creature of the Korea’s country’s foundational mythology. “I had the concept of this cover in my mind for a long time—as the first Korean woman to contribute to the DJ-Kicks series I wanted to do something from my heritage, so I chose the tiger, which is very important in Korean traditions and a metaphor for my personality,” Gou says. Jonas Lindstroem, the artist behind the cover, used a library image to make a composite, and the tiger ‘disappears’ when you turn to the inside-cover photo, “to highlight that these beautiful animals are already extinct in my home country and in danger of disappearing from our world entirely,” Gou adds.  

The mix features tracks from Pearson Sound, Deniro, Kode9, and JRMS, whose contribution is forthcoming on Gou’s new imprint. You’ll also find tracks from Aphex Twin and Andrew Weatherall, plus three exclusives. “Hungboo,” the first of these, is the first track Gou ever produced. The two others come from Hiver and I:Cube. 

DJ-Kicks: Peggy Gou lands June 28, with full tracklisting and a stream of Hiver’s “Pert” below. 


01. Spacetime Continuum “Fluresence” 

02. Peggy Gou “Hungboo” 

03. Pearson Sound “Earwig” 

04. Pegasus “Perseguido Por El Rayo” 

05. Sly and Lovechild “The World According To Sly And Lovechild” (Andrew Weatherall Soul Of Europe Mix) 

06. Dorisburg “Rytm804”

07. Hiver “Pert”

08. Kyle Hall “Flemmenup”

09. DMX Krew “EPR Phenomena”

10. JRMS “3”

11. Shades of Rhythm “Exorcist” 

12. Kode 9 “Magnetic City” 

13. The System “Vampirella”

14. Black Merlin “Kundu”

15. Aphex Twin “Vordhosbn”

16. R-Tyme “Illusion” (Mayday Remix) 

17. Psyche “Crackdown” 

18. Deniro “Epirus”

19. I:Cube “Cassette Jam 1993”