Next on Perlon is an album from Chris Korda, titled Akoko Ajeji

Akoko Ajeji is likely the only album in the world written entirely in complex polymeter, meaning that each track uses multiple prime meters simultaneously. 

As Korda explains: “Each instrumental part is written in a different meter, and consequently the instruments shift phase or ‘slip’ relative to each other. For example, the kick pattern could be in 4/4, the organ part in 5/4, the hi-hat in 7/4, and so on.” It required that Korda rewrite her MIDI sequencer to compose the album, “because commercial sequencers and DAWs simply can’t handle complex polymeter.” The result is an intricate but non-random pattern of interference. 

The technique is said to be as radical in its way as the pitch sets of atonal music were in the 1920s. It’s a new approach to music composition, and a new type of algorithmic music, which Korda now fuses with the traditions of techno and jazz.

Akoko Ajeji means “Strange Time” in Yoruba, the chosen language for the track titles because “it has evocative and beautiful words for trance, music, and dancing.” 

Korda is a musician, software developer, and leader of the Church of Euthanasia, a Massachusetts-based organization that advocates “halting the overpopulation of the Earth by its four pillars of suicide, abortion, cannibalism, and sodomy.” She’s previously released on Kevorkian Records and International Deejay Gigolo Records. 

The album follows a two-tracker from Tofu Productions on Perlon, and in its support, Korda will perform Akoko Ajeji live at Panorama Bar on August 2, joined by Zip, Maayan Nidam, Sammy Dee, and Akufen.

Akoko Ajeji LP lands September 6 on vinyl. Pre-order it here


A1. Vizyon 

A2. Asiri 

A3. Iyika 

B1. Ala Aye 

B2. Awose 

B3. Ra Bayi 

C1. Ra Mi 

C2. Egungun 

D1. Dek Sep Bluso 

D2. Fazo Kanto