On January 1, 2020, Phil Moffa will launch Butcha Sound Records with two albums totaling five hours of ambient, abstract, and noise.

Album number one, Meditations for Peace, consists of over two hours of ambient pieces intended to “manifest peace in your life and the world around you,” Moffa says. The songs are intended to serve as a focal point for your meditation practice or drifting off into the greater subconscious.

“I came up with the idea for this collection after getting home from the memorial held for David Mancuso in February, 2017,” Moffa adds. “I thought about his message, the therapeutic power of music, and bringing people together through sound and environment. I realized the importance of making and playing music with intent, and I was incredibly moved by what I experienced that night and at The Loft the times that I’ve been.” That evening, Moffa recorded tracks three and four, “David’s Memorial” and “Diverse People Dancing Together for Social Progress.”

The second album, Pieces for Painting, is a noise-based head trip and is more rough around the edges. Moffa writes: “Speaking to my painter friends over the years helped me to realize this project. These are pieces I imagine would be interesting to have on in your art studio while you work.” This includes two hours of equipment abuse and misuse, late-night journeys into the abyss, and the audio component of several art installations.

The covers were conceived by Moffa’s longtime friend and collaborator Greg MacAvoy, who created the watercolor, gouache, and ink paintings. Limited edition 12” x 12” photographic prints are available from the Butcha Sound Bandcamp page, as well as 2xCD for each album.

Future releases on Butcha Sound Records include several EPs by Moffa featuring his own collage art as the covers.


Meditations for Peace

01. Harmony for Disarmament
02. Tape Meditation #17
03. David’s Memorial
04. Diverse People Dancing Together for Social Progress
05. Lower East Side Meditation
06. What Are Clouds?
07. Lakehouse Meditation
08. Legend No. 1
09. Neither Rain nor Snow
10. Oscillation #7
11. 3 A.M. In Tunisia
12. Reverb Summit Theme
13. Rhodes Meditation #21, Pt. 1
14. Rhodes Meditation #21, Pt. 2
15. Tape Meditation #19

Pieces for Panting

01. Feedback from Anywhere
02. What Is Heard
03. Operator #1
04. Tension
05. Hill of Mirrors
06. Resonator Experiment #3
07. To the Furthest Depths
08. Vertigo
09. Dimension of Imagination
10. Micro Cosmic
11. ENO-UGH (Recital)
12. One for the Angels
13. Rhodes Reversal
14. Warm Wave Ambience
15. Psycho Glitch
16. The Amplifier That Plays When No One Is Around
17. Trans4mation Speaker #4 (Radio Edit)
18. Tape #18
19. Lowdown
20. Planetarium Experiment #5

Meditations for Peace and Pieces for Painting are out January 1, 2020.