Photo | Alex Digard

Pinch will release his first solo album 13 years, Reality Tunnel, via his own label, Tectonic.

The album takes its title and concept from the idea of a “reality tunnel,” a concept that was originally introduced by Robert Anton Wilson in his 1983 book “Prometheus Rising.” It relates to an idea on how we each create our own perspective—the subjective filter that we each apply to the world around us; the things we perceive and what our consciousness deems worthy of attention.

“Our beliefs, values, behaviours and so on, which we create and can therefore reshape, are the product of our individual reality tunnels,” Pinch, real name Rob Ellis, explains. “Every track on the album serves as its own reality tunnel and each tells a different part of my musical story.”

While floor-friendly bass pressure remains prominent across the album, it acts as a springboard for outré experiments in techno, grime, dub, jungle, dubstep, and other, more surprising styles.

The album began with “Back to Beyond,” which followed a “complicated experience with infinity,” Ellis explains. “I decided it was going to be the cornerstone of my second solo LP and set about making more music with that purpose in mind. There were to be no boundaries placed on the music; it would just be for me.”

“Each of these separate soundworlds travelled to by Pinch is explored and expressed with a distinct creative attitude and unified by an ‘anything goes’ free approach,” the label adds.

Reality Tunnels follows Pinch’s solo debut full-length, Underwater Dancehall, plus a collaborative LP with Shackleton, and two with Adrian Sherwood.


01. Entangled Particles feat. Emika
02. All Man Got feat. Trim
02. Accelerated Culture
04. Returnity
05. Finding Space
06. Party’ feat. Killa P
07. Back to Beyond
08. Change Is A Must feat. Inezi
09. Non-Terrestrial Forms
10. The Last One’ feat. Nive Nielson & The Deer Children

Reality Tunnels LP is out on vinyl and digitally on June 26 via Tectonic Recordings. Meanwhile, you can stream “Accelerated Culture” and pre-order the album here.