To celebrate their 20th Anniversary, Planet Mu have organised a 50-track, triple CD compilation of both old and new unreleased tracks and remixes titled ยต20. The release is packaged as a deluxe dvd-style box set complete with a 100 page book charting the history of the label, with insight from artists and staff, written by electronic music writer Rory Gibb.

For 20 years, Planet Mu, the independent label run by Mike Paradinas, has existed both on the fringes and in the centre of emerging electronic music, from IDM and breakcore to dubstep and grime and lately to footwork. It also has a strong history of connecting the dots in between those genres by supporting idiosyncratic artists, from label stalwart Venetian Snares to Machinedrum, Boxcutter, Vex’d, Falty DL, Luke Vibert, and Ital.

The music on CDs one and two is mainly from the current decade, with contributions from Kuedo, John Wizards, Ital Tek, Remarc, RP Boo, John T. Gast, Jlin and new signing Herva to name but a few. CD three features more of the older guard, dipping back into the roster from the late nineties and early 2000s with a range of noisier, knottier contributions from artists including Jega, Neil Landstrumm, Speedy J, Shitmat, Leafcutter John, and Hrvatski. The deluxe boxset will also be available in a slimmed-down double CD edition with the book, and the digital version will feature all 50 tracks from the compilation. A 12″ vinyl collection will be available as well, and will include a curated list of 15 tracks spread across 3 records.

To find out more about this release, go over to the Planet Mu website by clicking here.