Japanese DJ-producer Powder will kick off the first instalment of Beats In Space’s new mix series, coinciding with the platform’s 20-year-anniversary.

The 74-minute mix features two new and exclusive tracks of her own, “New Tribe” and “Gift,” plus the first official reissue of Daphne’s “When You Love Someone” (Groove Instrumental), and the first ever release of Samo DJ & The Hidden Operator’s “Захват Сзади Rox.” 

“New Tribe” is said to toast the global community that Powder’s connected with during her travels. “Gift” is a subtler jam, shuffling and twinkling in perfect balance. 

The video for”New Tribe,” streaming below, was produced by the animation studio of Toru Adachi and Shunsuke Itakura, who created a biographical video of Powder’s evolution from 9 am-to-5 pm office worker in Tokyo to 9 pm-to-5 am  DJ. 

Powder in Space will be available on February 15 in mix CD and mixed/unmixed digital forms via Beats In Space Records. Powder’s two original tracks, alongside Samo DJ and Daphne’s contributions to her mix, will be available in DJ-ready forms on 12″ vinyl.


01. Samo DJ & Hidden Operator “Захват Сзади Rox”

02. Tornado Wallace “Open Door” (Born Inna Tent Mix)

03. Acid Pauli “Release”

04. Don’t DJ “Southern Shore”

05. Daphne “When You Love Someone” (Groove Instrumental)

06. Vedagor “Untitled II”

07. Second Language “The Party” (Bluntman Deejay’s Mould Meditation)

08. Tiago “Roy Brooks”

09. Karamika “Ton 10”

10. The Sun God “Ancient Echoes” (Tribute To Larry Heard)

11. Powder “Gift”

12. Vertigo Inc “The Water Margin”

13. K-LINE “Saxopetu”

14. Powder “New Tribe”

15. Kettenkarussell “Just For A Second”

16. Jules Etienne “Cuban Omelette”

17. Lord Of The Isles “Your Smile”

18. Cos/Mes “Forever”