Pedro Vian‘s self-titled sophomore album is out today on Modern Obscure Music.

The new album follows his 2016 debut, Beautiful Things You Left Us For Memories, and opens up a new sonic chapter for the Amsterdam-based artist, one that presents a deeper and more affecting sound than the soaring electronics of his debut. The tracks on the new LP are hard to categorize, falling somewhere between downtempo, dub, ambient, and avant-garde post-rock. It’s an honest portrayal of Vian’s current sonic signature, as he explains:

“I have tried to be sincere, transparent and pure. During the recording process, I avoided artificiality. I do not like the overproduction of music. I like to feel the naturalness and the essence of the beat of the instruments. I like to look inside until I find something real with which to communicate.”

In support of today’s release, Vian has offered up a full stream of album cut “Similiar Faces,” a deep and dubby slice of emotive electronics, available via the player below. 

You can pick up the album here.


1. Static Ecstasy

2. Flexible Girl

3. Hamets

4. The Unicorn

5. Seneca feat. Laia Nadal

6. Desmai

7. Platja

8. Similar Faces

9. Vistes desde ses Illes

10. San Moris

11. Acid Brut

12. Tribute to Ligeti

13. Darwin’s Nightmare