Smalltown Supersound will release a collaborative album by Prins Thomas and Norwegian jazz legend Bugge Wesseltoft, scheduled to land July 20. 

Bugge Wesseltoft introduced his new conception of jazz to the world in the late ’90s, a golden time for Norwegian music during which the rest of the world began to sit up and take notice. A few years later came the electronic dance genre “space disco.” Along with Todd Terje, Bjørn Torske, and Lindstrøm, Prins Thomas was at the epicenter of this next big wave to surge out of Norway. Their collaboration now sees these two generations come together. 

The album was recorded in Oslo’s The Rainbow Studio, a familiar name for anyone who follows the ECM label; many of its classic 1970s jazz albums were recorded there under the eye of resident producer Jan Erik Kongshaug. Bugge and Thomas booked a couple of sessions at the legendary space with Kongshaug at the controls, and improvised some tunes in the style and spirit of some of their favorite ECM moments, like the fresh, open sounds of Codona, Egberto Gismonti, Oregon, and Kenny Wheeler. 

Bugge has previously done a remix of Thomas’ “Bobletekno” in 2015 but this is the first time they have worked together as active musicians. The results—also partly taped at Thomas’s home studio—fuse programmed rhythms, live synths, and percussion. For an even more authentic touch, they called up one of their local heroes and one of Norway’s most famous jazz drummers, Jon Christensen, who’s been the go-to guy for Jan Garbarek, Terje Rypdal, Keith Jarrett, and many more. 


01. Furuberget

02. Norte Do Brasil

03. Sin Tempo

04. Bar Asfalt

05. Epilog

Bugge Wesseltoft & Prins Thomas will land on July 20, with “Furuberget” streaming in full below—or here for EU readers due to temporary GDPR restrictions.