Rødhåd has released a new ambient album as a free download.

MOOD is Rødhåd’s first ambient experimentalist release, comprised of his own solo archival material from 2017/18, while “working on a plane of spontaneity, devoid of set structures,” he tells XLR8R. We’re told to expect a “life-giving, intimate, and solipsistic work” awash with field recordings, droning loops, and subtle granulations.

Across 18 tracks, Rødhåd crafts emotive textures through detailed layering of ethereal pads and simple synth melodies, aiming to reflect his meditative sensibilities. The album features some more beat-driven tracks like “He Didn’t Seem The Kind of Guy Who Would” and “Pigeons Dancing On The Roof,” which employs trip-hop beats atop washed synths and textural loops for a more downtempo affair.

Rødhåd, real name Mike Bierbach, released his debut album, Anxious, in 2017. MOOD launches WSNWG—BACK TO ZERO, a sub-label of his fresh imprint WSNWG, intended to provide a space for solo releases.

Silent Servant (a.k.a Silent Editions) has contributed the album artwork.

MOOD LP is available for free download today, ahead of a vinyl pressing on July 10.


01. A Huge Plume Of Ash Rose From A Volcano
02. Flying Between The Clusters Of Trees Without Buoyoant, Floating Wing Beats
03. He Was Beginning To Despair Of Ever Knowing
04. Like Sleepwalkers Ghosting Through A Dreamscape
05. Lions In The Supermarket Don‘t Sound Like Humans
06. Misty Fog Covering The Side Window
07. That Appeal Has Been Put Into Suspense By Reason
08. He Or She Will Then Drill Into The Pulp To Reach The Root Canal
09. Into Your Brain – A News Report Said The Line Carried 13,000 Volts of Electricity
10. No Forms To Fill Out, No Instant Check, No Waiting Period
11. The Film is About A Clown Who Leaves His Circus And Lives In A Building Near The Railway Station
12. She Wanted Her To Grow Up In A Nice House With A Backyard, So She Could Play
13. The Drawings Were Rearranged, As If By Magic
14. He Didn‘t Seem The Kind Of Guy Who Would Just Get Talking To A Stranger
15. Pigeons Dancing On The Roof
16. When They Returned Home After Midnight
17. I Wanted To Hold Her Close And Whisper In Her Ear That She‘d Be Fine
18. Good Bye My Love

Download MOOD here.