Apollo and R&S will welcome back Roman Flügel and Jörn Elling Wuttke as The Primitive Painter for a reissue of the pair’s 1994 classic self-titled album of sonorous IDM.

The Primitive Painter album originally came out in 1994, but its release was bungled by an R&S label mix up that attributed the album to the duo’s own Klang Elektronik label, confusing fans and distributors. For this reason, the album slipped out without much fanfare.

Since then, the album’s reputation has grown, with second-hand copies (only 500 vinyl were pressed) changing hands for exorbitant amounts on Discogs.

Growing up in Frankfurt, in the ’80s and ’90s, Flügel and Wuttke honed their inventive take on the Detroit techno blueprint as ​Acid Jesus​.

The Primitive Painter album is a tribute to the euphonic IDM grandeur of Apollo Recordings’ self-titled compilation of 1993 which features artists like David Morley, Model 500, and Aphex Twin. Flügel and Wuttke turned out 10 tracks of gauzy, melodious electronica, and settled on the name The Primitive Painters, taking inspiration from the band Felt.

“This really brings us full circle,” Wuttke tells XLR8R. “Apollo / R&S meant and means so much to us as artists and so it was bittersweet to not have the official release, and to put that right all these years later feels really good.”

This new vinyl release comes in re-created original gatefold artwork and includes all original 10 tracks (“Stoned Soul Picnic” was previously on the CD only). It also contains an exclusive previously unheard track called “Testing” on the digital release.


01. Hope
02. Disfigured Phantasy
03. Levitation
04. Psycho Kinesis
05. Cathedral
06. Invisible Landscapes
07. A Pagan Place
08. Orgon Akkumulator
09. Stoned Soul Picnic
10. Testing

The Primitive Painter LP is out on vinyl and digitally on June 26. Meanwhile, you can stream “Hope” below, and pre-order here.