Gerd Janson‘s Running Back will mark its 15th anniversary with the release of its first label compilation, the Running Back Mastermix, in September.

As befitting the celebration of a landmark year in the life of Gerd Janson’s widely adored imprint, Janson has invited one of house music’s original and greatest proponents of the Mastermix, NYC’s Tony Humphries, to curate and mix the CD and digital editions of the compilation, accompanied by an unmixed double-LP which features a handful of the compilation’s rare and exclusive cuts.

The Mastermix is a timely reminder of what has made Running Back endure and remain at the top of many house music fans’ favorite label lists for over a decade. Beginning with Todd Terje‘s “Ragysh” and traversing tracks from across the label’s history, it includes contributions from longtime label regulars alongside more recent additions and reminders of some of the label’s best reissues. Label mainstays Tiger & Woods, Matthew Styles, Redshape, and Leon Vynehall all appear, alongside Mr. G, Paul Woolford and recent breakthrough artists Shan, Jex, and Roy Camanchero. Tiger & Woods’s “Don’t Hesitate” appears on vinyl for the first time, while the Dixon edit of Precious System’s anthem “The Voice From Planet Love” will be available on wax again after only appearing on a super limited 12″ run the first time around.

The choice of Tony Humphries to mix the compilation is a significant one. Having received his break in the early ’80s as an understudy for the legendary Shep Pettibone’s Kiss FM show, Humphries went on to become one of the defining DJs of house music’s formative years with his residency at New Jersey’s Club Zanzibar and London’s Ministry of Sound.


Mixed CD/digital version

01. Todd Terje – Ragysh
02. Roy Comanchero – The Delete of Society
03. Tiger & Woods – Don’t Hesitate
04. Tiger & Woods -Time
05. Jex – La Casa
06. Tiger & Woods – No More Talking
07. Precious System – The Voice From Planet Love
08. Precious System- The Voice From Planet Love (Beat-Appella)
09. Leon Vynehall – Beau Sovereign
10. Shan – Work It (Piano Mix)
11. Redshape – Dogz
12. Mr. G – Ben & Gerd (Killin It M Day)
13. Heaven and Earth – Prescription Every Night
14. Paul Woolford – Forevermore
15. Matthew Styles – Hot!
16. Shan – Bassline Party

Unmixed double LP

A1. Todd Terje – Ragysh
A2. Tiger & Woods – Don’t Hesitate
B1. Tiger & Woods – Time
B2. Precious System – The Voice From Planet Love (Beat-Appella)
C1. Precious System – The Voice From Planet Love (Dixon Edit)
C2. Leon Vynehall – Beau Sovereign
D1. Mr. G – Ben & Gerd (Killin It M Day)
D2. Paul Woolford – Forevermore (edit)

Running Back will release Running Back Mastermix on September 15.