On September 4, NYC label RVNG Intl. will release a collection of music from Kerry Leimer’s Savant project.

Artificial Dance compiles 1983’s The Neo Realist (At Risk), with Savant’s debut 12″ and stack of previously unreleased tracks. According to the accompanied text, the 14-track compilation “chronicles and explores the unpredictable alchemy of music made in chance environments, revealing a revelatory document of tape spliced funk, fourth-world foraging, and nonconformist musical ethos colliding.”

Leimar invited a host of musicians from experimental and post-punk groups to record as Savant including ambient composer Marc Barreca, John Foster—founder of Op Magazine—and Jim and David Keller of the New Flamingos, but kept the lineup loose and often asked the musicians to “play instruments far outside their forté.”

Ahead of the release, “Stationary Dance” is streaming in full below, along with the full tracklisting.


01. Using Words
02. Indifference
03. The Neo-Realist
04. Shadow In Deceit
05. The Shining Hour
06. Knowledge And Action
07. Heart Of Stillness
08. Stationary Dance
09. Sensible Music
10. Deceit In Passion
11. The Radio
12. Facility
13. Falling At Two Speeds
14. Fault Index