Celesete Sloman

At the end of next month, RVNG Intl. will release We Are Not The First from Hieroglyphic Being & J.I.T.U. Ahn-Sahm-Buhl.

Recorded over a week of studio sessions in Brooklyn, We Are Not The First combines the vast musical expertise of Marshall Allen, Daniel Carter, Greg Fox, Shelley Hirsch, Shahzad Ismaily, Elliott Levin, Jamal Moss, Rafael Sanchez, and Ben Vida for a deep, otherworldly, and altogether mesmorizing full-length album. According to the accompanying text, the 11-track LP “aspires to reprogram the mind, to transcend our expectations through bugged-out percussion, modular mayhem, flurries of free improvisation, and voices carrying through the air,” and as you’ll hear in the below video, that’s exactly what it does, and more.

We Are Not The First will be released as a limited edition double LP, CD, and digital formats on October 30, with the first taste of the album streaming via the player below.