Soulwax have announced news of forthcoming musical endeavors, the soundtrack for Belgica—the new film by Oscar-nominated director, Felix Van Groeningen (previously nominated for Best Foreign Language in 2014 with The Broken Circle Breakdown)

The film sees Soulwax’s influence throughout from composing, arranging and recording the original score to creating each and every one of the fictional musical artists featured. A diverse collection of songs, performed by a similarly varied set of artists has seen Soulwax create what is a unique soundtrack that continues to see them evolve as musical progressionists. The film has already been screened at this year’s prestigious Sundance Film Festival.

Recorded and mixed at Soulwax’s new Deewee studio in Ghent, the entire project has been over twelve months in the making.

As the group says:

“We recorded the original music being played in the club, wrote the music, rehearsed and recorded live on set the tracks played by the bands—ranging from a live kraut techno band, White Virgins, bequiffed psychobilly trio They Live through to hardcore outfit Burning Phlegm (featuring Sepultura’s Igor Cavalera) whilst chanteuse Charlotte represents the other end of the spectrum with her neo soul pop.”

The past couple of years have also seen the brothers launch their innovative and hugely successful Radio Soulwax project as well as continuing to tour the world as 2manydjs.


01. Charlotte “The Best Thing”
02. The Shitz “How Long”
03. Rubber Band “Caoutchouc”
04. White Virgins “Turn Off The Lights”
05. Light Bulb Matrix “Hot December”
06. Kursat 9000 “Çölde Kutup Ayisi”
07. Erasmus “Ti Ricordi Di Me”
08. Burning Phlegm “Nothing”
09. Aquazul “Slippy Fingers”
10. Roland McBeth “Don’t wait Up For Me”
11. Diploma “Got Any Chris Rea?”
12. They Live “The Cookie Crumbles”
13. Danyel Galaxy “Cybernetic Permutations In The Key Of A”
14. The Shitz “Sell It With Your Face”
15. Robert Vanderwiel “Nine Thousand Eyes”
16. Noah’s Dark “Inward”

[PIAS] Recordings will release Belgica Original Soundtrack on February 26, 2016.