On October 28 Cantaloupe Music will release a collection of remixes of “Timber,” a composition for six wooden 2-by-4s by Michael Gordon.

When Michael Gordon’s “Timber” premiered in 2009, it raised the bar for percussion performance. Now, newly recorded by Mantra Percussion and reworked by a number of producers, Gordon’s deep exploration into the possibilities of rhythm gets the full electronic treatment on Timber Remixed. 

The release features the studio touches of Squarepusher, Oneohtrix Point Never, Tim Hecker, Hauschka, Johann Johannsson, Ikue Mori, and many more.

The double-CD set includes Mantra’s live performance of “Timber.”

Remixer listing:

Disc 1
01. Jóhann Jóhannsson
02. Sam Pluta
03. Tim Hecker
04. Fennesz
05. Oneohtrix Point Never
06. Greg Saunier
07. HPRIZM/High Priest of APC
08. Ian Williams
09. Squarepusher
10. Ikue Mori
11. Mira Calix
12. Hauschka

Disc 2
01. Mantra Percucussion – Timber Live

Timber Remixed is out October 28 on Cantaloupe Music, with the Fennesz rework available to stream in full below.