Following last year’s Vitriol EP and Otider album, SSTROM is back on Rösten with Drenched, 12 tracks for the floor, divided over three EPs, each released three weeks apart.

SSTROM is the project of Hannes Stenström, once part of Swedish band Slagsmålsklubben, and one half of enigmatic techno duo SHXCXCHCXSH (SHX). SSTROM’s output is explicitly immersive, relying on tense immediacy and spontaneity. The subtle 4×4 pulsations frame vivid narratives and rich layers of texture. 

Drenched sees Stenström build on the ideas of Otider, on which he manifested a sonic diversity relating to his personal experiences and incorporated a diversity of genres ranging from ‘90s rave to hints of minimal synth. 

The EPs came to life after he broke his computer by spilling a drink on it, forcing him to try out different techniques of composing and recording. With limited ways of working, a more minimalistic form of expression emerged, based on short harmonic structures and layered pulsations. The process resulted in these 12 tracks “whose magic will work best on EP format and for the floor,” the label explains. 


Drenched 1-4—RÖSTEN8.1—April 22

A1. Drenched 1

A2. Drenched 2

B1. Drenched 3

B2. Drenched 4

Drenched 5-8—RÖSTEN8.2—May 13

C1. Drenched 5

C2. Drenched 6 

D1. Drenched 7

D2. Drenched 8

Drenched 9-12—RÖSTEN8.3—June 3

E1. Drenched 9

E2. Drenched 10

F1. Drenched 11

F2. Drenched 12

Drenched 1-4 lands April 22 with “Drenched 1” streaming below. The release dates of the second parts are above.