Midwest imprint Still Music has been a loyal champion of Detroit’s underground dance music since its founding in 2004. One year later, the then-young label issued In the Dark (The Soul of Detroit), a collection of the city’s notable producers and DJs that featured names such as Rick Wilhite (pictured above), Mike Huckaby, and Marcellus Pittman. Now, Still Music has announced plans to re-release the compilation, along with a previously unreleased 30-minute documentary chronicling the Motor City’s electronic-music scene during that era. The film, entitled In the Dark: Voices, is said to “shed a light over the mystique of the Detroit scene,” with a series of candid interviews and footage of live performances and DJ sets from the likes of Wilhite, Huckaby, Ron Trent, Franki “DJ 3000” Juncaj, Malik Alston, and many others. Considering the electronic-music community’s newly regained fascination with all things Detroit, and the fact that the work of many of these artists has somehow gone largely undocumented in any comprehensive manner, Still Music’s compilation and documentary are certainly welcome efforts. The reissue package is set to drop sometime this spring, but for now, you can peep the complete In the Dark (The Soul of Detroit) tracklist—which includes a number of tunes not found on the original version—and accompanying artwork, below.

01 Courtney Jack “Everybody (Amp Fiddler Remix)
02 Malik Alston “A Walk Thru Oska”
03 Keith Worthy & Malik Alston “Ecoutez”
04 Rick Wilhite “City Bar Reopen ‘Live’ Dancing”
05 Delano Smith “Hot-N-Funky”
06 Rick Wilhite and Kenny Dixon Jr. “Bosmos”
07 Patchworks “Sugar (Amp Fiddler Remix)”
08 Rick Wilhite “Magic Warter”
09 Mike Huckaby “Melodies From the Jazz Republic”
10 Raybone Jones, Marcellus Pittman, Rick Wilhite “In the Dark”
11 Rick Wilhite, Urban Tribe, S. Ingram “Cosmic Jungle”