In support of the release of the Plastic Anniversary LP, out now via via Thrill Jockey Records, Matmos has revealed two music videos from the project: “Thermoplastic Riot Shield” (directed by the band) and “Breaking Bread” (animated and directed by Robert Syrett).  

Each sound of this the album is made exclusively with plastic, and it serves as a follow-up to 2016’s Ultimate Care II, on which all the sounds were generated by a washing machine. It’s also a celebration for Drew Daniel and M.C. Schmidt’s 25th anniversary, and features Greg Saunier, Mitchell Brown, Harry Walker, Jon Leidecker, Brooks Kossover, Eric Holdhusen, Jeremy Carnagey, Port Nugent, Bret Allen, Ethan Potthoff, Wyatt Scott, and Montana’s Whitefish Highschool Bulldogs. 

The animation of Syrett on the “Breaking Bread” video takes focus on the album’s main subject matter of environmental destruction, with Matmos shooting with a singular angle for “Thermoplastic Riot Shield” that centers around the police riot shield used to create the song. 

Check out the new Matmos videos below, with pre-orders for the LP/CD versions of Plastic Anniversary here


01. Breaking Bread

02. The Crying Pill

03. Interior With Billiard Balls & Synthetic Fat

04. Extending The Plastisphere To GJ237b

05. Silicone Gel Implant 

06. Plastic Anniversary 

07. Thermoplastic Riot Shield

08. Fanfare For Polyethylene Waste Containers

09. The Singing Tube

10. Collapse Of The Fourth Kingdom

11. Plastisphere

“Breaking Bread,” animated and directed by Robert Syrett.

“Thermoplastic Riot Shield,” directed by Matmos