Cult imprint Ze Records will mark its 30th year in the biz with an all-star comp set for release entitled Ze 30: Ze Records 1979 – 2009 . Launched in 1979 by French art student Michel Esteban and British journalist Michael Zilkha, Ze tapped into the art-fueled, post-punk goliath that was New York City’s underground music scene in the early ’80s. The label signed artists like James White & The Blacks, Suicide, Lizzy Mercier Descloux, and Marie Et Les Garcons. Judging by the tracklisting, we can’t think of a better way to celebrate this special occasion.

Ze 30: Ze Records 1979 – 2009
01 Was (Not Was) – “Tell Me That I’m Dreaming (Traditional 12” remix)”
02 Don Armando’s Second Avenue Rhumba Band – “Deputy Of Love (Mutant Disco version)”
03 Cristina – “Things Fall Apart”
04 Lizzy Mercier Descloux – “Hard-boiled Babe”
05 Alan Vega – “Jukebox Babe”
06 Casino Music – “The Beat Goes On”
07 James White & The Blacks – Contort Yourself (Album version)
08 Kid Creole & The Coconuts – “Something Wrong In Paradise (Larry Levan mix)”
09 Material feat. Nona Hendryx – “Bustin’ Out (Seize The Beat version)”
10 Garcons – “French Boys”
11 Aural Exciters – “Maladie D’Amour”
12 Suicide – “Dream Baby Dream (Long Version)”
13 Michael Dracula – “What Can I Do For You”
14 Marie Et Les Garcons – “Re Bob Electronic”

Suicide – “Ghost Rider”

Lizzie Mercier – Descloux “Ou Sont Passées Les Gazelles”

Pictured: Lizzy Mercier Descloux