New York-based, South Asian electronic innovators Sub Swara will drop their new album, Coup D’Yah, June 10 on Low Motion records. Sub Swara crew members Dhruva, Sunder, Haj, and Sharmaji, with MC Juakali, have been running their successful monthly club night in New York since 2005, showcasing dubstep, breaks, grime, and South Asian electronic sounds with live musicians, vocalists, and singers.

At their own nights and elsewhere, the group performs original music using electronic gear and computers, as well as DJs. Sub Swara’s hybrid gatherings have drawn international attention that has lead to U.S. and European tours, and after a U.K. radio appearance, BBC Radio hostess Mary Anne Hobbs commented, “Sub Swara deals with the most fascinating melt of sound–beats [and] bass laced with the elemental voice of Juakali, pure heaven! The Sub Swara mix was devastating–contender for mix of the year on the BBC Radio 1 show, for real.”

Two years in the making, the new album promises to make a splash with its heavy Asian, Latin, and African percussion sounds, wood and string instruments, and weighty bass drops. The album also showcases the signature vocal talents of Zulu (Ghislain Poirier, DJ C), MC Coppa (Al Haca, Stereotyp), Napoleon Solo (Ming & FS), and Sub Swara’s own rising star, Juakali (Sub Swara, Kush Arora, Pinch). Like an amphetamine-fed Punjabi MC at a dubstep rave, Sub Swara’s music bursts with cracking beats, but is tempered with echoed reggae-dub elements.

Catch Sub Swara live Friday June 6 at their monthly residency at Love, 179 MacDougal in New York.

Coup D’Yah Tracklisting
1. Hi Fidelity (Shambhala Riddim)
2.Infiltrate (Sub Step Refix)
3. Alabaster Dub
4. Belgrade Riddim
5. Banga
6. Backwater Dub
7. The Balance
8. Insh’allah
9. Constructing the Absence
10. Yeah (Ina Dravidian Bombstep)
11. TKM
12. Koli Stance