Photo: Nick Sayers

Kevin Martin (a.k.a The Bug) and poet Roger Robinson will release a new album as King Midas Sound on February 14 via Cosmo Rhythmatic.

Solitude, with 12-tracks, is the duo’s first release since 2015’s Fennesz collaboration Edition1 via Ninja Tune. It’s described as a meditation on loss, “a loss that has been enforced and unexpected.” It’s about processing the irrational and incessant feelings of rejection and loneliness, like listening to the tenderness of love disappear and it being replaced by skewed logic. 

Kevin Martin provides a predominantly beatless musical backdrop, simultaneously minimal and menacing, but periodically beautiful. It stalks the isolated characters created by Robinson’s haunting vocals, as the poet shapes the protagonists’ troubled lives into increasingly desolate narratives.

The artwork is a collaboration with Japanese contemporary photographer Daisuke Yokota. His mastery of monochrome tone and texture is said to perfectly match the word/sound power of KMS, mirroring the same obsession with atmosphere, density, and finish.


01. You Disappear 

02. Zeros

03. In The Night

04. Too Late

05. Alone

06. Who

07. Lies

08. The Lonely 

09. Bluebird

10. Missing You 

11. Her Body 

12. X

Solitude LP lands February 14 via Cosmo Rhythmatic, with “You Disappear” streaming below.