Brooklyn duo The Juan Maclean will return to DFA with The Brighter The Light, a compilation LP of 12″ singles they’ve amassed over the past six years—re-edited, re-mastered, and ready for those who may have missed the tracks the first time around.

The nine-track album focuses on  singles from the past six years, from the dub house sway of 2013’s “You Are My Destiny” to the high-energy stomp of this May’s “Zone Non Linear,” and it features two never-before-released tracks, “Quiet Magician” and “Pressure Danger.” Deep house rhythms, sparkling synths, and a certain spaciousness are emphasized in place of the motion melancholy disco of recent full-lengths. 

Juan Maclean is a DJ-producer and a mainstay of the New York club scene. Vocalist Nancy Whang is his longtime collaborator, best known as a founding member of LCD Soundsystem and a busy touring DJ. Together, the two artists have released an extensive catalogue of 12” singles and full-length albums for DFA. The proper follow-up studio album will follow in 2020.  


01. What Do You Feel Free About?

02. Zone Non Linear

03. You Are My Destiny

04. Get Down (With My Love)

05. Feel Like Movin’

06. Quiet Magician

07. Pressure Danger

08. Can You Ever Really Know Somebody

09. The Brighter The Light

The Brighter The Light LP lands on September 20, with “Get Down (With My Love)” streaming in full below.