The xx have shared a new song.

As noted by Pitchfork, “On Hold” borrows from ’80s classic “I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do)” by Hall & Oates. It is the first full track to emerge from the group’s forthcoming full-length, I See You.

There has been speculation about a new album coming from The xx camp for some time now; the group fuelled rumors by sharing 55-second snippets of a handful of tracks they have been working on. It has now been confirmed that I See You  will drop in January 2017 (following on from their last album, Coexist, which was released back in 2012).

Stream “On Hold” in full below. You can pre-order forthcoming album I See You here ahead of its January 13, 2017 release.


01. Dangerous
02. Say Something Loving
03. Lips
04. A Violent Noise
05. Performance
06. Replica
07. Brave For You
08. On Hold
09. I Dare You
10. Test Me