The nominees for this year’s Polaris Prize are in, and we’re thrilled to see a number of XLR8R favorites making the list for what is Canada’s annual nod to its best album. By all accounts, 2009 is shaping up to be a good year in music for our northern neighbo(u)rs.

Among various indie-rock and pop nominees, others on the 2009 long list include Fucked Up, for The Chemistry of Common Life, Tim Hecker’s ambient masterpiece An Imaginary Country, XLR8Rcover stars Junior Boys, for Begone Dull Care, and K-OS’ album Yes!.

A pack of journalists, bloggers, broadcasters, and a few citizens make up the deciding jury, who will whittle the nominees down to the short list, to be announced on July 7. A September 21 gala event will decide the final winner. Cross your fingers and stay tuned.

Pictured: Tim Hecker (somewhere behind that mask).