We had no idea it was even around back then, but according to noise artist Tim Hecker, rave died sometime during 1972. Well, that’s the title of his forthcoming new record, anyway. On Valentine’s Day next year, the Canadian ambient producer will release Ravedeath, 1972 via Chicago’s Kranky label. The 12-song album follows his last LP, 2009’s An Imaginary Country, and has pretty heavy song titles (“Hatred of Music” and “Studio Suicide, 1980” immediately stick out), along with some great-looking cover art. You can check out all that stuff below, along with a handful of European tour dates. (via Pitchfork)

01 The Piano Drop
02 In the Fog: I
03 In the Fog: II
04 In the Fog: III
05 No Drums
06 Hatred of Music: I
07 Hatred of Music: II
09 Analog Paralysis, 1978
09 Studio Suicide, 1980
10 In the Air: I
11 In the Air: II
12 In the Air: III

Tour dates:
12-01 London, England – Luminaire
12-02 Bristol, England – Arnolfini
12-03 Minehead, England – All Tomorrow’s Parties
12-06 Manchester, England – Islington Mill
12-10 Geneva, Switzerland – Presences Electroniques Festival