Tom Rogerson has announced his debut record in collaboration with Brian Eno.

Finding Shore is described by the label as “the sound of Rogerson distilling the essence of what he does after a protracted musical journey from childhood until now.”

He took the traditional route of music lessons and learning notation before starting composing “properly.” As a 17-year-old he had the odd contrast of being taught by the composer Harrison Birtwistle but also working as a lounge pianist in a dilapidated hotel in Peterborough. He spent some time in New York playing jazz, recording with Reid Anderson of The Bad Plus, and had a successful career with post-rock group Three Trapped Tigers.

Upon meeting Brian Eno, the pair didn’t speak about music at all but bonded over their roots in the Suffolk town of Woodbridge, located on the strange flat landscape of Eastern England. Eno’s influence on Finding Shore began by enabling Rogerson to overcome his fear of committing any one piece to its own album. As a way to open Rogerson up, Eno suggested they try experimenting with the Piano Bar, an obscure piece of Moog gear that works by using infrared beams focussed on each piano key; these are then broken as the keys are played, transforming the piano’s note into a MIDI signal that can then be used to trigger or generate new, digital sound. As Rogerson improvised at the piano, Eno improvised with the MIDI signal to create a unique piece of music.


01. Idea of Order at Kyson Point
02. Motion in Field
03. On-ness
04. March Away
05. Eastern stack
06. Minor Rift
07. The Gabbard
08. Red Slip
09. Quoit Blue
10. Marsh Chorus
11. An Iken Loop
12. Chain Home
13. Rest

Finding Shore LP is scheduled for December 8 release via Dead Oceans, with “Motion in Field” streaming in full above.