Tricky will release Fall To Pieces, his 14th studio album, on September 4 via his own False Idols label.

Tricky, real name Adrian Thaws, recorded Fall To Pieces in his Berlin studio in late 2019. He’s keen to point out that the tracks on the record can be deceptive; often short, they also end abruptly, moving on to the next without warning.

The instruments across the album vary from bursts of tense synths, distorted dial tones, and samples, and the lyrics are dark and dense. The majority of the tracks, including lead single “Fall Please,” rely on Marta Złakowska, whom Tricky discovered during a European tour when he was left without a vocalist on the opening night.

“Fall Please,” streaming below, has a twisted accessibility that surprised even the man who wrote it. “With most of my stuff, there’s nothing else like it around,” Tricky says. “But with ‘Fall Please,’ I’ve managed to do something I’ve never been able to before, which is that everyone can feel it, even people who don’t know my music. It’s my version of pop music, the closest I’ve got to making pop.”

The album comes in the midst of a busy period for Tricky. In the last year, he’s dropped the enchanting 20,20 EP and put out an autobiography, “Hell Is Round The Corner.”


01. Thinking Of
02. Close Now
03. Running Off
04. I’m In The Doorway
05. Hate This Pain
06. Chills Me To The Bone
07. Fall Please
08. Take Me Shopping
09. Like A Stone
10. Throws Me Around
11. Vietnam

Fall To Pieces LP is out on vinyl, CD, and digitally on September 4. Meanwhile, you can pre-order here, and stream “Fall Please” below.