Nina KravizTrip label will soon release a new album from Biogen.

The LP is a mixture of rare and unreleased material from the late Icelandic producer.

Biogen (a.k.a Sigurbjörn Þórgrímsson) was a pioneer in Icelandic electronic music, first as part of the hardcore group Ajax, and later as a founder of the Thule label, which released music from other Icelandic producers like Thor and Exos. His own music was unpredictable and experimental, encompassing made-up genres like “sofatrance.” He only put out a few records under the name Biogen, through Thule and Uni:form Recordings.

Halogen Continues, compiled by Nina Kraviz with help from Ruxpin, who gave her access to Þórgrímsson’s archives, collects rare and unreleased material, some of which was first unearthed last year for digital-only Bandcamp releases.

“I picked the most idiosyncratic cuts that show his creative approach most brightly,”Kraviz says. “Some of them are short cuts ending obnoxiously with a lot of temper, and others gorgeous atmospheric narratives—so deep and haunting that it feels like they are not familiar with a notion of time and dissolve slowly into the eternity.”

The album will be followed by a compilation of Þórgrímsson’s ambient and experimental music on GALAXIID later in 2017.


A1. Irrelevant Information
A2. Lag 38
A3. Borealis
A4. Autofloat
B1. Lag 7
B2. Lag 24
B3. 160 Techno
B4. Lag 9
C1. Bliss
C2. Lag 8
D1. Forever Is Never Again
D2. 303 Ambient
D3. Halogen Continues

Trip will release Halogen Continues on June 23, with “303 Ambient” exclusively streamable in full below.