Francis Harris will release a new album in October, titled Trivial Occupations

Trivial Occupations is the third LP released under the Kingdoms and Scissor and Thread founder’s own name—and sees Harris embark on an “altogether more personal journey as a composer of intimate, atmospheric pieces removed from the dancefloor.” The album—which follows 2012’s Leland and 2014’s Minutes Of Sleep—was made over the course of four years in various studios, aiming to bring “a diversity of perspectives and approaches encompassed within Harris’ artistic studio approach.”

Harris’ last solo release came in the form of February’s Minor Forms EP. 

After making two emotionally charged concept-driven albums in Leland and Minutes of Sleep, for at least a few years, I felt like I had nothing else to say musically in my solo work. I experienced a gap in my creative process and ultimately a phase of depression. I then began to deal more directly with the question of how concepts work their way into any musical work, especially if one is not necessarily adept at exploring them from a purely theoretical standpoint. How do you approach an album without a concept? Is it necessary to have a concept? This led to all sorts of existential rabbit holes. So I decided to go back to the beginning, which was no beginning at all. It was more like living in a pure present. Just getting back to a love for making music on my own and with other people. I didn’t put a timeline on it and figured it would be finished when I felt the time was right. Four years later my Trivial Occupations became an album.” — Francis Harris


01. / A1. At First A Wide Space

02. / A2. St. Catherine And The Calm

03. / B1. Song For Aguirre

04. / B2. Trivial Occupations

05. / C1. Dalloway

06. / C2. Recital Of Facts

07. / C3. Parklife

08. / D1. Minor Forms

09. / D2. Beaumont

10. / D3. No Useless Leniency

Trivial Occupations LP will land on October 19, with “Song For Aguirre” streaming in full below.