Photo: João Viegas

Next on San Francisco’s Dark Entries is Violet‘s debut album, Bed of Roses

The album contains 10 songs made as a sort of childhood-teenage memories diary, a reflection on things Violet liked then and also the difficult things she’s been through. The feeling behind it is self-forgiveness in an optimistic way but also in an adult way, aware of the bruises (thorns) but also of the invaluable love and life experiences (roses). The title comes from the Bon Jovi song that Violet loved as a nine-year old, and doubles as an intent of positivity paired with the inescapable darkness of life. 

Violet says: “I wrote this music as a healing device that I hope can somehow help heal others too.” 

Violet is the the alias of Inês Borges Coutinho, the Lisbon-born DJ-producer, boss of Naive Records, and co-founder of Rádio Quântica. She began producing music in 2012 and has released music on One Eyed Jacks, Love on the Rocks, Paraíso, and Naive. 

The album is mastered by George Horn at Fantasy Studios. The jacket features an original design by Eloise Leigh that incorporates themes of self-inspection and hope, mixing a teen bedroom vintage scrapbook aesthetic with contemporary 3D mapping techniques. Each LP contains a postcard featuring a childhood photo of Violet with notes. 

Bed of Roses LP is out September 20, with clips below. 


01. Tears In 1993

02. Bed Of Roses

03. In The Aquarius

04. Half Crazy

05. Fuck A Bully

06. They Don’t Wanna Know

07. Glory Voyage

08. Bed Of Roses Part II

09. Spectral

10. Never Leave