Wasted Fates is up next on Mexico City’s NAAFI label. 

Turbio was conceived in 2017 during a period where the Mexican producer lost two computers, and so composition and arrangement were only possible during late night hours on borrowed computers. 

All the songs present the same motif: “a desperate quest for tonality and to approach feelings from behind a curtain of smoke,” the label explains. It touches on dembow, gqom, dancehall, deconstructed club, grime, and more; and there’s an orchestral aspect on some tracks. Track 02, “La Excavación,” includes some sounds recorded during the rescue efforts of the Earthquake that hit México City in 2017, where Wasted Fates volunteered.  All the final tracks and details were then finished during the RBMA 18 at Funkhaus Berlin, a different scenario to where the whole album started. 

The nine-track release follows Wasted Fates’ NAAFI debut, Mundialero EP. His last LP, Data Nomadics, surfaced in 2016. 


01. Clínica

02. La Excavación

03. Voltaico

04. Odalisca

05. Implosión

06.Mortífero (ft. Lao)

07. Trastorno

08. Bestia

09. Neblina

Turbio arrives April 19.