Weval will release a new album on Kompakt next month, titled The Weight.

The Amsterdam duo released their eponymous debut LP via the German label in 2016, and this new album sees them breaking their pop-mellow, nostalgia-friendly facet further out in the open as they arrive “at this place again where everything felt spontaneous, new, and exciting, like we had in the beginning.” 

Orbiting around that luminous yet wistful melodic halo that surrounds their music, this second full-length effort sweeps an extra-wide and languidly woven palette of emotions and moods, making for an “ambitious and generously coloured mosaic of sound,” the label explains.

The album is the fruit of a whole new working process—more playful and unpredictable—which saw them switch from “guitars lying around to piano, onto our own synths and the most cheap quirky toys synths you can imagine,” and involved “recording all of our own samples, voice and almost every instrument out of the box—which for us was a totally new way of working,” they explain. 


 01. The Weight

02. Roll Together

03. Are You Even Real

04. False State of Mind

05. Someday

06. Heaven, Listen

07. Couldn’t Do It Better

08. Same Little Thing

09. Silence On The Wall

10. Look Around

11. Doesn’t Do Anything

12. Heartbreak Television

13. Who’s Running Who

The Weight LP lands March 8, with “Are You Even Real” and “Heaven, Listen” streaming below.