Massive Attack’s sample secrets have been revealed—this 12-dose album of classic funk, reggae, soul, and hip-hop contains many of the spacey atmospherics and classic breaks utilized by the pioneering trip-hop gang. Isaac Hayes’ epic “Ike’s Mood” was mined for Blue Lines’ “One Love,” while the classic drum break from James Brown’s “I’m Glad You’re Mine” was put to work on Protection’s “Better Things.” Also included are John Holt’s “Man Next Door” and William De Vaughn’s “Be Thankful for What You’ve Got,” both of which Massive Attack reimagined and covered. It’s interesting to know that Massive Attack’s roots lie in music that sounds almost nothing like their trippy end product.