Photo | Djeneba Aduayom

As announced, New York trio Son Lux have unveiled Tomorrows II, the second instalment in a far-reaching three-volume body of work. We’re offering “Molecules,” the album’s second track, as one of today’s free downloads to full XLR8R+ members.

This series’ second volume, following August’s Tomorrows I, sees a more introspective, stripped-back facet to the Tomorrows world. It arrives at a time of uncertainty in the world and aims to remind us of the necessity of questioning assumptions, and of sitting with the tension.

Son Lux began as a solo project for founder Ryan Lott but expanded in 2014 thanks to a kinship with Ian Chang and Rafiq Bhatia. The group honed their collective intuition while creating, releasing, and touring five recordings, including albums Bones and Brighter Wounds. The band remains audibly indebted to soul, hip-hop, and experimental improvisation.

Tomorrows II LP is scheduled for December 4 digital release on City Slang.

Full XLR8R+ members can download “Molecules” below, and pre-order the full album here.

For those unfamiliar, XLR8R+ is a member-supported music community and curated music experience. Every month, you will get at least three exclusive tracks—sometimes more—by a wealth of amazing artists that XLR8R has supported over the years, as well as access to the member’s area where you can submit tracks and DJ mixes to be showcased in this feature series and to the XLR8R+ community, as well as exclusive editorial content, mixes, FREE passes to music festivals and events, playlists, weekly downloads such as these, and more. You can find out more here.


01. Warning
02. Molecules
03. Prophecy
04. Yellow Leaves
05. Out of Wind
06. Apart
07. Bodies
08. Weight of Your Air
09. Live Another Life
10. Borrowed Eye