Erased Tapes will present saxophonist Daniel Thorne‘s debut solo album, Lines of Sight

Lines of Sight follows Thorne’s work as artistic director of collaboration-focussed group Immix Ensemble. Together with experimental electronic artist Vessel, he co-wrote Transition, released on Erased Tapes in 2016, described by BBC Radio 6’s Mary Anne Hobbs as “a remarkable new piece of music.” More recently, he worked with acclaimed modular synth wizard Luke Abbott to create a four-part suite which was premiered live in June 2017. Immix Ensemble have also performed special live commissions with Kelly Lee Owens, Dialect, Jane Weaver, and Bill Ryder-Jones, among others.

Described by the label as “deeply moving, full of otherworldly beauty, and rapture,” the album is “alive, throbbing like a circulatory system, colourful and glowing.”It’s inspired by birds-eye aerial images and the idea of perspective—how something incredibly complex like a river or the surface of the ocean is reduced to a simple line or shape when viewed from the heavens. 

The first track under Thorne’s own name, “Iroise” was recorded for the Erased Tapes 10th anniversary release, 1+1=X, alongside works by Nils Frahm, Penguin Cafe, A Winged Victory For The Sullen, and Rival Consoles. 


01. From Inside, Looking Out

02. From The Other Side Of The World

03. From The Heavens

04. Pyriscence

05. Threnody For A Burning Building

06. Fear Of Floating

Lines of Sight LP will land on March 15, with “From Inside, Looking Out” streaming below.