Joakim will release his fourth full-length this March.

The French producer’s next album, Samurai, is about the his journeys between New York City, Paris and Tokyo, and cites Mishima’s Hagakure: Samurai Ethics & Modern Japan as a key influence. Set to drop on his own Tigersushi imprint, the 13 album tracks also take inspiration from home-made electronic and “new age”’ style music.

Ahead of the album’s release, Joakim has shared a video for first single “Numb.” The Adrian Yu directed film gives a nod to the Japanese tradition of Kabuki make-up, as well as parodying the YouTube phenomenon of make-up tutorials.

Samurai will be released Marc 17. Watch the video for “Numb” below.


01. In The Beginning
02. Samurai
03. Numb
04. Late Night New City
05. Green Echo Mecha
06. Cannibale Pastorale
07. Exile
08. Through The Prospect Park Arch
09. Time Is Wrong
10. Mind Bent
11. Jocho
12. Not Because You’re Sad
13. Hope / Patience