Matthew Dear will debut as Brain with a new EP on Carl Craig’s Planet E label.

Brain is Dear’s latest alias, additing to a catalog of techno projects that includes False, Jabberjaw, and Audion. He’s also prolific under his birth name, releasing many albums on Ghostly and Spectral Sound, including Bunny in 2018.

The EP opener, “Boss,” surfaced on Carl Craig’s Detroit Love Vol.2 mix as a psychedelic tunnel that takes full advantage of Dear’s nous for detail.

The World EP will be released digitally during the lockdown period, with a 2×12″ vinyl release to follow in September featuring the additional production, “Tantricity.”

Clocking in at 24 minutes, this understated epic offers a tumbling journey through passage upon passage of Brain’s ultra-precise and unpredictable world; expect “a euphoric and occasionally unsettling masterclass in suspense and release,” the label says.

Digital tracklisting (May 15, 2020):

01. Boss
02. Corrections
03. Rafe
04. Snake Head

Vinyl tracklisting (September 2020):

A1. Boss
A2. Corrections
B1. Rafe
B2. Snake Head
C1. Tantricity Pt.I
D1. Tantricity Pt.II

The World EP lands digitally on May 15. Meanwhile, you can stream “Boss” in full below, and pre-order the release here.