Ulla will release Limitless Frame, a new album on Motion Ward.

Limitless Frame is Ulla’s first full-length on the Los Angeles label that last year released Pontiac Streator‘s Triz. It follows her exceptional Tumbling Towards A Wall, which featured in XLR8R‘s favorite releases of 2020.

According to Boomkat, the distributor, the album’s nine textural soundscapes see the Philadelphia artist “dispensing a broader palette of instrumentation to evoke finer, ephemeral feels with a more timeless appeal.” Her sound appears “more porous to influence” from strains of wistful jazz and blues. “I made this music as a way to hug myself,” Ulla says.

Ulla, formerly known as Ulla Straus, also releases as Ulla Anona and LOG, a collaborative project with Perila. In November last year, they put out LOG on Experiences LTD in Berlin, Germany.

To learn more about Ulla and her Philadelphia peers, check out XLR8R​+​027, featuring exclusive works from Pontiac Streator, Exael, Ben Bondy, Opheliaxz, Autobouncer620, and Monkey20.


01. Aware Of Something
02. Look Or Look Away
03. Both Feelings
04. Chest Of Drawers
05. Shelter
06. Something Inside My Body
07. Clearly The Memory
08. Far Away
09. Somewhere Else

Limitless Frame LP is scheduled for May 10 release. Meanwhile, you can stream clips below and pre-order via Boomkat here.

Photo: Sasha Zakharenko