Nicolas Jaar and Dave Harrington have detailed Spiral, their second album as Darkside.

Spiral is the first new music from Darkside in eight years, following the duo’s celebrated 2013 debut, Psychic, also on Matador. News of it surfaced in December when the pair sharedLiberty Bell.”

In the years that followed the Psychic tour in 2014, Jaar and Harrington moved along parallel and occasionally intersecting paths. Jaar has released five albums under his name and two collections of club music as Against All Logic. Harrington has worked as a producer and composer, and released two albums with his Dave Harrington Group.

In the summer of 2018, the pair rented a small house in Flemington, New Jersey, where they spent a week making a song a day. While it took another year-and-a-half to complete their second album, six songs from Spiral were written and recorded during this initial session.

“From the beginning, Darkside has been our jam band. Something we did on days off. When we reconvened, it was because we really couldn’t wait to jam together again,” says Jaar.

Jaar and Harrington met while studying in Providence through their friend Will Epstein. In the summer of 2011, they toured Europe and Australia in support of Jaar’s debut album, Space Is Only Noise. Upon returning to Providence, they continued to write together, releasing their self-titled EP in 2012 and Psychic in October 2013.


01. Narrow Road
02. The Limit
03. The Question Is To See It All
04. Lawmaker
05. I’m The Echo
06. Spiral
07. Liberty Bell
08. Inside Is Out There
09. Only Young

Spiral LP is scheduled for July 23 release on Matador Records. Meanwhile, you can stream “The Limit” below and pre-order here.

313709-1-001 001